From Babu to Netri’s journey, get to know the officials who came into politics before Gupteswar Pandey

Former Bihar DGP Gupteswar Pandey, who recently took VRS, joined Janata Dal United (JDU) on Sunday in the presence of Nitish Kumar. He is expected to be the party’s candidate from Boxer in this Assembly election. However, this is not the first time that civil service officials have tried their luck in politics. Their list is quite long. Let’s take a look at some of the famous officials who left the civil service and played political innings.

Yashwant Sinha

Yashwant Sinha, a resident of Patna, the capital of Bihar, has resigned after 24 years as an IAS officer. In 1990-99, he became the Finance Minister in the government of Prime Minister Chandrasekhar. He later joined the BJP. In Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s government, he held important positions such as foreign and finance ministers.

Namo Narayan Meena and Harishchandra Meena

The two brothers are residents of Rajasthan and are IPS officers. Namo Narayan Meena was also the DGP of Rajasthan. He joined the Congress after retirement and was twice elected MP from Dasa. Harishchandra Meena also entered politics following his elder brother on the streets. Harish joined the BJP and dared to lose to his elder brother Namo Narayan Meena. However, he h as now left the BJP and joined the Congress and is now a MLA.

Must Read:-  We are not someone's 'B team', those who are afraid are spreading confusion: Chirag Paswan

Satyapal Singh

Satyapal Singh was a 1980 batch IPS officer, Commissioner of Police, Mumbai. He joined the BJP in 2014 after retiring. He contested the 2014 Lok Sabha elections from Bagpat on a BJP ticket and reached the Parliament after defeating RLD’s Chowdhury Chowdhury Ajit Singh. Satyapal Singh also won the 2019 elections.

Upendra believes

Upendra Biswas, a resident of West Bengal, was a popular IPS officer of his time. After retirement, Upendra Mamata Banerjee’s party joined TMC. He was elected MLA for the 2011 assembly elections and served as a minister till 2011. Upendra Biswas came to the discussion when the animal scandal was published. He was then part of the CBI investigation team. Lalu Prasad Yadav is currently convicted in this animal scandal.

Kiran Bedi

Kiran Bedi, the country’s famous and first female IPS officer, also entered politics. However, he continued his social work for a long time after leaving his job and joined the BJP in 2015. Kiran Bedi was with Arvind Kejriwal in the Anna Hazare movement. But later the two shared their path. In 2015, the BJP made Bedi the Chief Minister of Delhi. However, he also lost his seat. He is currently the LG of Pondicherry.

Must Read:-  Bihar Election 2020: Half of the population wanted selfies with us for half

Prince Singh

Raj Kumar Singh, a resident of Bihar, is a 1975 batch IAS officer. Prior to his retirement, he was the Union Home Secretary. Raj Kumar Singh arrested LK Advani in 1990 during a rath yatra. At that time RK Singh was the DM of Samastipur. He joined the BJP before the 2014 elections and won the Lok Sabha elections from Ara. He is currently the Union Minister.

Arvind Kejriwal

Arvind Kejriwal, who became Delhi’s chief minister for the third time, was an Indian Revenue Service official. He resigned and started working under the Right to Information Act. After the Anna movement, Arvind Kejriwal formed the Aam Aadmi Party and became the Chief Minister of Delhi for the first time in 2013. He became Delhi’s chief minister for the third time, winning a landslide victory in the elections in February this year.

Enter your email address To Get Update Latest News

Delivered by FeedBurner

Hardeep Singh Puri

Hardeep Singh Puri, a 1944 batch Indian Foreign Service officer, Union Minister in the Modi government, joined the BJP in 2014 after his retirement and has been a minister since 2001.

S. Jaishankar

Indian Foreign Service Officer S. Jaishankar joined the BJP after the current Indian foreign minister retired. He is also a Rajya Sabha MP from Gujarat.

Must Read:-  Good news! Apni Kayari - Apni Thali Scheme is now available in all districts of Bihar


Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top