Sport News

South Africa v Sri Lanka: Lungi Angidi won by 10 wickets, Sri Lanka won 0-2

Sri Lanka lost the first Test of the series by an innings.

In the match played in Johannesburg, the hosts won by 10 wickets against Sri Lanka with the sharp bowling of Lungi Ngidi and Lutho Sipamala. Quinton de Kock’s side won by 10 wickets after lunch on the third day of the match after bowling Sri Lanka for 211 in the second innings. With this, South Africa won the series 2-0. Read more – ICC Test Championship Points Table: Sri Lanka clears and reaches 5th position. Africa, a loss to this team

Sri Lanka lost their last six wickets by adding only 35 runs. Due to the lead in the first innings, Sri Lanka got an easy target of 67 runs to win. Eden Markram (unbeaten 336) and Dean Elgar (unbeaten 31) helped South Africa win by 67 runs in 13.2 overs. Read more – First day of SA vs SL 2nd Test: Arich Nortje, the fastest bowler in IPL 2020, crashed on Sri Lankan batsmen

Earlier, fast bowler Lungi NGD took four wickets for 44 runs and Sipmala took three wickets for 40 runs. Despite a century by captain Dimuth Karunaratne (103), the team collapsed in 56.5.5 overs. Sri Lanka scored 157 in the first innings, in response to which South Africa took a 145-run lead with 302 runs. Read more – SA vs SL: Kagiso Rabada joins South Africa Test squad after recovering from injury

South Africa also won the first Test by an innings and 45 runs. The series is part of the World Test Championship and South Africa has scored a full 120 points.

Sri Lanka started with 150 runs for four wickets. Before Karunaratne scored 133, Enrich completed a century off 123 balls with two fours off Nortz. The Sri Lankan captain, however, caught Vin Mulder with a ball net in the air in the next over by Nortz. He hit 19 boundaries in his 128-ball innings.

In the next over, wicketkeeper-batsman Niroshan Dickwella (3) was caught by Tenba Babumar and NGD pushed Sri Lanka for the sixth time. Wilder then sent Dashun Shanaka (08) to the pavilion, Sipmala Vanindu Hasaranga (16), Dushmant Chamira (00) and Asita Fernando (00) to end the innings.


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker