Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by whitelisting our website.
Kings XI Punjab beat Mumbai Indians for the first time

Kings XI Punjab beat Mumbai Indians for the first time in two Super Over lasting IPL matches


After Mayank Agarwal’s superb fielding in the Super Over, Kings XI Punjab scored two points to beat Mumbai Indians in the second Super Over for the first time in two consecutive fours in the Indian Premier League. With this victory, Punjab team has reached the sixth position with six points from nine matches. Mumbai are second with 12 points from the same number of matches. The match reached a thrilling thrill, with both teams scoring the same five in the super overs after the tie after 20-20 overs.


Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya batted for Mumbai in the second super over, while Chris Jordan bowled for Punjab. Mumbai lost Pandya’s wicket in this over and scored 11 runs. This time Pollard played a big shot to the end, but Mayank Agarwal converted six runs from brilliant fielding to two runs on the boundary. Punjab had a 12-run target for the win for which Mayank Agarwal and Chris Gayle came to bat, Trent bowled for Mumbai. Gayle put pressure on Mumbai with a six off the first ball. Gayle took a run off the second ball, but Mayank hit the third and fourth balls to give the team the win.

IPL 2020: David Warner becomes first foreign player to make history after Super Over defeat

Jaspreet Bumrah bowled for Mumbai and Mohammad Shami for Punjab in the first super over. Both of them gave only five runs in this super opener. Earlier, Bumrah also changed the course of the match with three wickets for 24 runs in four overs. He also took the wickets of Mayank Agarwal and Nicholas Puran, following Lokesh Rahul in pleasant rhythm. Interestingly, the results of the two matches on Sunday came from the Super Over. In the day match, Kolkata Knight Riders defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad in Super Over.

Mumbai won the toss and elected to bat first, scoring 166 runs for the loss of six wickets. After Quinton Dick’s (53) half-century for the team, Mumbai’s challenging overs were bowled by Caron Pollard’s Atron Batting (34 off 12 balls) and Nathan Coulter-Neil (24 off 12 balls). Pollard and Coulter-Neil put on an unbeaten 57 off the last 21 balls. Even after chasing the target, after Rahul’s innings of 77 off 51 balls, Punjab could score 166 runs in 20 overs. This is Rahul’s third consecutive half century innings.

Must Read:-  IPL 2020: Great response from James Neesham, who lost in the third super over of the year

IPL 2020: Kolkata beat Hyderabad, such was the thrill of Super Over

Punjab needed nine runs to win in the 20th over, but veteran Tret Bolt was able to bowl Deepak Huda and Chris Jordan for just eight runs. Punjab needed two runs in the last ball, but Jordan was out in the second attempt and the match was tied after 20 overs. Chasing the target, Rahul scored 20 runs in the third over against Trent Bolt in three fours and a six. Jaspreet Bumrah, however, broke the most successful opening partnership of the tournament by bowling Mayank Agarwal in the third ball of his first over. He made 11 off 10 balls.

Gayle then opened the hand by hitting Coulter-Neil with six, Rahul again took an aggressive position against Bolt, hitting a six and a four in the sixth over. After the powerplay, the team was in a better position with 51 runs for one wicket. Gayle Bolt was caught by Rahul Chahar in the process of hitting sixes. He hit 24 off 21 balls with two sixes and a four. He then made great shots against Puran Chahar and Pollard, who came to the crease, but he could not overcome the Boomerang challenge and caught Coulter-Neil in the 13th over. He hit 24 off 12 balls with two boundaries and six sixes.

IPL 2020: After a long time, Dhoni-Ashwin duo together, funny response CSK

Rahul was able to complete a half-century off 35 balls against Chahar in the first ball of the fourth over, but he walked Glenn Maxwell as he did not open the scoring with two balls. Rahul then got good support from Deepak Hooda and both of them raised the team score to 150 in 1 increased over. However, Bumrah bowled Rahul in the 18th over, giving Punjab a big push. There were only four runs in this over.

Must Read:-  Veteran Tambe, 48, became the first Indian cricketer to play in the CPL

Earlier, after losing the toss, Punjab skipper Lokesh Rahul started bowling again for Glenn Maxwell (24 not out in four overs), where he scored just six runs. Playing an unbeaten half-century in the last match, Mumbai-winning Dick Arshadip Singh hinted at maintaining a rhythm with a six in the over. The young bowler, however, bowled Rohit in the same over. He scored nine runs off eight balls.

IPL 2020: Why Chennai Super Kings Can’t Win From Delhi Capital Kumar Sangakkara


After Shamir, Suryakumar sent Yadav (zero) and Arshdeep Ishan Kishan (07) to the mandapa. Both of them caught Murugan Ashwin. After that, Krinal Pandya, who came to bat, gave good support to Dick and both of them stole one run and kept the boundary in between. Robbie Bishwanai broke this dangerous partnership with the wicket of Krunal. In addition to scoring 344 off 30 balls, he put on 58 for the fourth wicket with Dick.

Dick completed his half-century off 39 balls with four runs and a six against Ashwin in the 15th over. In the next over, Hardik (08) was Shamir’s second victim. Jordan sent Dick to the pavilion in the 17th over of the innings. Pollard accelerated Mumbai’s run rate by hitting two sixes in a row in the 18th over against Arshdeep Singh. Nathan Coulter-Neil also hit two boundaries in this over. Mumbai have scored 22 runs in this over. Pollard then scored 20 runs in the last over against Jordan with two sixes and a four. Shami and Arshdeep Singh took two wickets each for Punjab.

Mumbai Indians innings:

Rohit Sharma Bo Arshdeep Singh 06
Mayank Bow Jordan Quinton Dick’s 53
M. Ashwin Bo Shami Suryakumar Yadav 00
Han Shan Kishan’s M Ashwin Bo Arshadip 07
Huda Bo Bishwanai 34 of Krunal Pandya
Huda Bo Shami 08 of Hardik Pandya
Kieron Pollard unbeaten 34
Nathan Coulter-Neil 24 unbeaten

Must Read:-  IPL 2020 RCB vs MI: Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma says the team had to face defeat against RCB

Extra: Seven
Total: 176 for six in 20 overs
Wicket Fall: 1-23, 2-24, 3-38, 4-96, 5-116, 6-119

Punjab bowling:
Maxwell 4-0-24-0
Shami 4-0-30-30
Arshdeep 3-0-35-2
Jordan 3-0-32-1
M Ashwin 3-0-28-0
Huda 1-0-9-0
Vishnu is 2-0-12-1

Kings XI Punjab innings:

Lokesh Rahul Bo Bumrah 77
Mayank Agarwal Bo Bumrah 11
Chris Gayle’s Bolt Bow Char 24
Coulter-Neil Bo Bumrah 24 of Nicholas Puran
Glenn Maxwell’s Rohit Bo Chahar 00
Deepak Hooda is unbeaten 23
Chris Jordan runs out 13

Extra: 04
Total: 176 for six in 20 overs
Wicket Fall: 1-33, 2-75, 3-108, 4-115, 5-153, 6-176

Mumbai bowling:
Trent Bolt 3-0-48-0
Krunal 2-0-12-201.
Boomerang 4-0-2403-
Coulter-Neil 4-0-33-0
Pollard 2-0-26-0
Rahul Chahar 4-0-33-2

Enter your email address To Get Update Latest News

Delivered by FeedBurner




Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top