IPL 2020

IPL 2020 CSK vs RR: Rajasthan won by wickets, Chennai in play-off race for the first time

Jose Butler’s disciplined bowling and half-century helped Rajasthan Royals maintain their hopes in the Indian Premier League (IPL) with a seven-wicket win over Chennai Super Kings here on Monday. The risk of not reaching the playoffs deepens. Chennai decided to bat first and made 125 for five. Only Rabindra Jadeja (unbeaten on 30 off 30 balls) and Dhoni (26 off 28 balls) can contribute a bit for him. Butler’s unbeaten 70 off 46 balls, seven fours and two sixes helped the Royals to 126 for three in 17.3 overs. Captain Steve Smith’s (unbeaten 2 off 34 balls in 134 overs for the final wicket) Butler made an unbeaten 9-run stand in 13 overs.

Dhoni’s 200th match in the IPL has not been memorable. Chennai has played IPL so far, it has definitely reached the playoffs. He is a three-time winner and a six-time runner-up, but this time he has six points from ten matches and even if he wins the next four matches, his chances of reaching the playoffs will be slim. The Royals have risen to fifth place with eight points from their fourth win in ten games.

Big record for MS Dhoni, 4,000 runs completed by CSK in IPL

However, it was not easy for Dhoni’s people to give up. Deepak Chahar (2 for 18) and Josh Hazlewood (1 for 19) completed their quota in the first nine overs, but in the process they kept the Royals batsmen quiet most of the time. The Royals’ opening innings with Ben Stokes (19) and Robin Uthappa (four) proved to be wrong again. Both were in the pavilion until the fourth over. Sanju Samson could not open an account again. One has to admire Dhoni who dived to the left and grabbed him with one hand. The Royals lost three wickets in two overs.

Smith and Butler instinctively adopted the strategy of leading the innings. Meanwhile, when Smith did not open the account, Dhoni took DRS against him for lbw. The way Butler took charge of scoring runs. His six pressures on Shardul Tagore were visible. Smith faced the first four off the fourth ball. Butler completed a half-century off 37 balls. His bowlers laid the foundation for the Royals’ victory. Joffra Archer took one wicket for 20 runs, and his two spinners Shreyas Gopal (1 for 14) and Rahul Tewatia (1 for 18) took two wickets for 32 runs in eight overs and put pressure on the Chennai batsmen. .

Who will face the first ball in the super over? Find out what Chris Gayle’s answer to Mayank’s question was

Dhoni’s decision to bat first after winning the toss proved to be wrong and Chennai’s top order was reduced to five for four in 10 overs. Run. The Royals bowlers should be commended for taking advantage of the condition and putting pressure on the Chennai batsmen from the start. The pitch was slow, but it was also an uneven bounce that didn’t allow the batsmen to adjust. Butler gave a nice catch to Faf Duplessis (10), but Quran (22) was not confident except for six of Stokes. Shane Watson (eight) and Ambati Rayudu (13) caught easily.

Dhoni and Jadeja failed to score the required runs. Both added 51 runs for the fifth wicket, but played 4 balls for it. Chennai had 3 wickets in the last five overs despite the wickets remaining. Chennai had 12 boundaries and a six in the entire innings. Jadeja hit four of these fours.

Chennai Super Kings

Butler Bo Gopal 22 of Sam Quran
Butler Bo Archer of Faf Duplessis 10
Shane Watson’s Teotia Bow Kartik Tayagi 08
Samson Bo Teotia of Ambati Rayudu 13
Mahendra Singh Dhoni was out for 28 runs
Rabindra Jadeja unbeaten 35
Kedar Yadav not out 04

Extra (by 01, leg by 02, noball 01, wide 01) 05
Total (20 overs, five wickets) 125
Wicket Fall: 1–13, 2–26, 3–53, 4–56, 5–107

Rajasthan bowling
Archer 4-0-20-1
Rajput 1-0-8-0
Tyagi 4-0-35-1
Stokes 3-0-27-0
Gopal 4-0-14-1
Rahul Tewatia 4-0-18-1

Rajasthan Royals

Ben Stokes Bow Chahar 19
Robin Uthappar Dhoni Bow Hazlewood 04
Sanju Samson’s Dhoni Bo Chahar 00
Steven Smith unbeaten 26
Jose Butler unbeaten 70

Extra (legs by 06, wide 01)
Total (17.3 overs, 3 wickets) 126
Wicket results: 1-2-2, 2-28, 3-28

Chennai bowling
Chahar 4-1-18-2
Hazelwood 4-0-19-1
Jadeja 1.3-0-11-0.
Thakur 4-0-34-0
Karanan 1-0-6-0
Chawla 3-0-32-0


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button