India won the World Cup under the leadership of MS Dhoni on this day

India won the World Cup under the leadership of MS Dhoni on this day

new Delhi. Under the leadership of captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the Indian team won the World Cup by defeating Sri Lanka nine years ago today, ending a drought of 28 years.

Team India won the World Cup for the second time by defeating Sri Lanka by six wickets in the final of the 2011 ICC World Cup. In the final in Mumbai, Sri Lanka batting first scored 274 for six wickets in 50 overs. Chasing the target, the Indian team won the title by scoring 277 runs for four wickets in 48.2 overs.

The title was sought by the Indian team as well as the people of the country for years and Dhoni ended the 28-year drought of India with a six off the ball of Nuwan Kulasekara and made the team a world champion.

This victory was very important for Team India as well as Sachin Tendulkar, the most senior player of the team. It was the sixth and final World Cup of his career. The final match took place at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, Sachin’s home ground.

The 2011 World Cup was held in Asia and Team India showed from the very beginning of the tournament that it was one of its strongest contenders. India made a big start from the group stage of the tournament and defeated Bangladesh in the first match.

After this, the team continued on the path of victory. Although he had a tie with England when he suffered a defeat at the hands of South Africa, India made sense of their strength by defeating defending champions Australia in the quarter-finals.

India competed against arch-rivals Pakistan in the semi-finals and the entire nation was watching it as a final. The match was held in Mohali and the then Prime Minister of India Manmohan Singh and the then Prime Minister of Pakistan Yusuf Raza Gilani were also present at the stadium to watch the match.


India defeated Pakistan by 29 runs in the semi-finals and also ensured a place in the final. Pakistan could not break the chain of their defeat at the hands of India in the World Cup and with this defeat their journey ended in the tournament.

Mahela Jayawardene scored an unbeaten 103 for Sri Lanka in the final match and brought her team to a fighting score. Chasing the target, the Indian team did not start well and their opening pair walked the pavilion on a score of just 31. After this, Gautam Gambhir first handled the innings with Virat Kohli and then with Dhoni and brought the team to the threshold of victory.

Gambhir, however, could not complete his century and was dismissed for 97 runs. On the field of Gambhir’s pavilion, Yuvraj Singh, who scored the most runs in the tournament, came on the field and he teamed up with Dhoni to win the team.

With the victory, all the players of Team India started celebrating in the field and all the players including Yuvraj, Harbhajan Singh, Sachin and Dhoni got emotional. All the players of the team circled the field with Sachin on his shoulder and accepted the greetings of the audience.

Nine years have passed this moment but it still feels like a dream. The winners of the World Cup team remembered this day. Gambhir tweeted that the World Cup was won by India, for India and together with India.

Harbhajan tweeted that winning the 2011 World Cup. What a day it was too. This day was a very proud moment for Indians. Prior to 2011, India won the World Cup for the first time in 1983 under the leadership of Kapil Dev. After this, the team reached the final led by captain Saurabh Ganguly in 2003 but lost to Australia in the title match.

Also Read:   Hindustan Shipyard Limited jobs for youth, apply soon
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button