Sport News

ICC T20 World Cup: Sri Lanka announces T20 World Cup squad; Dasun Shanka will be the captain

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will begin in Oman from October 17.

After India, Australia and England, the Sri Lankan Cricket Board on Sunday also announced its 15-man squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup. Dasun Shanaka will lead Sri Lanka in the World Cup to be jointly held in UAE and Oman.Also Read – Pakistan did not choose the right team for T20 World Cup, it should be changed: Shoaib Akhtar

Dhananjaya de Silva will be the vice-captain of the T20 World Cup squad. Apart from this, senior batsmen Dinesh Chandimal and Kusal Perera have also got a place in the team. Also Read – Imran Tahir is sad about not being selected in the T20 World Cup, said – I too deserve respect

Sri Lanka’s new mystery spinner Mahesh Theekshana has also made it to the T20 World Cup squad. Along with this, top-order batsmen Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Kamindu Mendis have also got a chance. Also Read – ICC T20 World Cup, West Indies Squad: Carlos Brathwaite OUT from World Cup team, this player returns after 6 years

Left-arm spinner Praveen Jayawickrama is also in the squad along with fellow spinner Akila Dananjaya. Experienced seamer Nuwan Pradeep will lead the pace attack.

Due to the COVID-19 restrictions, teams are allowed to name four stand-by players. And Sri Lanka has selected Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernand, Akila Dhananjaya, Pulina Tharanga as reserve players.

Sri Lankan Squad for T20 World Cup: Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Dhananjay de Silva (Vice Captain), Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapakse, Charit Aslanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Nuwan Pradeep, Dusmantha Chamira, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lahiru Madushanka, Lahiru Mahesh Thikshana. Reserve: Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernand, Akila Dhananjay, Pulina Tharanga.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker