IPL 2020 Akash Chopras big statement about Dinesh Karthik stepping

IPL 2020: Akash Chopra’s big statement about Dinesh Karthik stepping down as KKR captain says captivity has been taken away from him.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik, who has captained the Kolkata Knight Riders for more than two years, resigned on Saturday. He made the decision before the match against Mumbai Indians, where the team lost by eight wickets against Mumbai. Dinesh Karthik’s startling decision surprised many experienced cricketers. According to Karthik, he made this decision to focus on his batting. Akash Chopra, a former Team India cricketer and currently commenting on the IPL, has spoken out on the issue.

Speaking on his YouTube channel, Akash Chopra said that Dinesh Karthik did not remove himself from the captaincy but was removed by the team management. Akash Chopra believes that no player wants to give up the captaincy in the middle. Akash further said that KKR has snatched the captaincy from Karthik, though it is not officially stated but it is always said that the players do not want to be the captain of their team. He said that he had not talked to Karthik about it but the news said that he did not want to be the captain anymore.

Must Read:-  ‘Then it doesn’t matter if you are getting Rs 2 crore or Rs 20 crore’, friend Harbhajan Singh told the real reason for leaving the IPL.

The former wicketkeeper’s big statement about Dinesh Karthik leaving the captaincy

Regarding the performance of Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL, Akash said that the team is doing great at the moment as well as the team has played eight matches so far and lost four. The team is currently at number four with eight points in the points table. The team’s next match will now be against Sunrisers Hyderabad on Sunday. The match will be held in Abu Dhabi.

Notably, this is the ninth time in the history of the IPL, when a captain has left the captaincy of a team in the middle of a tournament. Last year, Rajasthan Royals named Ajinkya Rahane as their captain and Steve Smith as their new captain. The first IPL captain was VVS Laxman, who left the captaincy in the middle of the tournament. He was replaced by Deccan Chargers captain Adam Gilchrist.

Must Read:-  IPL 2020: David Warner surpasses Virat Kohli to become IPL's 5th fastest

Enter your email address To Get Update Latest News

Delivered by FeedBurner

Suryakumar Yadav caught a surprise catch, the batsman responded


Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top