News ToDay

Union Minister Sonowal and TMC Leader Sushmita Dev elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha

There are a total of seven Rajya Sabha seats in Assam, out of which two seats are with the Congress and one seat is held by an independent member.

Rajya Sabha Elections: Union Minister Sarbananda Sonowal was declared elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Assam on Monday. Sonowal was the only candidate for the seat from Assam and on the last day of his withdrawal, the returning officer declared him elected to the Upper House of Parliament. With this, the number of seats of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the Rajya Sabha from Assam has increased to three, while its ally Asom Gana Parishad has one Rajya Sabha seat. There are a total of seven Rajya Sabha seats in Assam, out of which two seats are with the Congress and one seat is held by an independent member.Also Read – West Bengal Bypoll: Guns waved in Bhawanipur on last day of campaigning, TMC-BJP workers clash in Kolkata; many injured

Sonowal along with Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and state BJP president Bhabesh Kalita took the election certificate from the returning officer from the state assembly complex in the afternoon. After this, while talking to reporters, Sonowal said that he will continue to work for the betterment of the state and the people. Sonowal (59) was inducted into Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s cabinet in July as the Minister of Ports, Shipping and AYUSH. This made it necessary for him to become an MP. Also Read – Union Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting visited IIMC, said – Deendayal Upadhyay’s dream was ‘Self-reliant India’

The seat, for which former Chief Minister Sonowal had filed his nomination papers, fell vacant after Assam Assembly Speaker Biswajit Daimary resigned from the Upper House. Demri had resigned from the Upper House after being elected in the assembly elections. Sonowal was also elected to the Legislative Assembly from Majuli for the second time in May, but returned to New Delhi after Himanta Biswa Sarma became the Chief Minister. Also Read – West Bengal: BJP will not field candidate in Rajya Sabha by-election, Sushmita Dev likely to be elected unopposed

TMC leader Sushmita Dev Dev elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha

Apart from this, Trinamool Congress leader Sushmita Dev was also elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from West Bengal on Monday. Former All India Mahila Congress chief Sushmita Dev had joined TMC from Congress in August. He was elected unopposed after the BJP had decided not to field any candidate against him for the Rajya Sabha elections.

BJP removed the candidate, Congress candidate’s election fixed unopposed

Senior Congress leader Rajni Patil has been elected unopposed to the Upper House of Parliament after the Bharatiya Janata Party on Monday withdrew its candidate for next month’s Rajya Sabha bypolls in Maharashtra. After the death of Congress MP Rajiv Satav in May, it became necessary to hold a by-election on this seat. His term in the Upper House was till April 2, 2026. Monday (September 27) was the last date for withdrawal of nomination papers for the by-elections to be held on the 4th of next month.

The Bharatiya Janata Party had fielded Sanjay Upadhyay for this by-election and now he has been removed from the electoral fray. After this, the way has been opened for Patil’s (62) election unopposed. There were only two candidates for this seat. Upadhyay told reporters that Congress leaders in the state had appealed to the BJP to withdraw candidates so that Congress candidates could be elected unopposed. He said, “As per the direction of the party, I have withdrawn my paper. The decision to withdraw my candidature was taken in the state BJP core committee meeting.

Last week, Maharashtra Congress President Nana Patole and his party colleague and minister Balasaheb Thorat had met Leader of Opposition in the Assembly Devendra Fadnavis urging him to make way for Patil’s election unopposed.

There are 288 members in the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly, out of which the Bharatiya Janata Party has 106 seats. Patil is the candidate of the ruling Maha Vikas Aghadi in the state, which is led by Shiv Sena. Congress is a main constituent of Maha Vikas Aghadi.

(input language)


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker