News ToDay

Punjab Elections 2020: Shiromani Akali Dal releases list of 64 candidates for Punjab elections, see full list

Akali Dal Candidates List: Shiromani Akali Dal on Monday announced the names of its candidates for 64 assembly seats.

Akali Dal Candidates List: Preparations are in full swing for the next year’s assembly elections in Punjab. All the parties have gathered for the elections. Amidst all this, Shiromani Akali Dal (Shiromani Akali Dal) on Monday announced the names of its candidates for 64 assembly seats.Also Read – UP: CM Yogi said – Those who say Abbajan used to digest ration, Congress is the mother of terrorism in the country

Party chief Sukhbir Singh Badal will contest from Jalalabad, while former ministers Tota Singh, Janmeja Singh Sekhon, Daljit Singh Cheema and Sharanjit Singh Dhillon will be contesting from Dharamkot, Zira, Rupnagar and Sahnewal respectively. The party had earlier announced the names of 24 candidates, but now released the complete list of 64 candidates. Also Read – Punjab Covid Restrictions: Corona restrictions extended till September 30 in Punjab, know where the strictness will be; see new guideline

ImageAlso Read – Government employees who do not take a single dose of corona vaccine in this state will be sent on leave, know what is the order

In June, the SAD had allied with the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) for the assembly elections. As per the seat-sharing arrangement, Mayawati-led BSP will contest 20 of the 117 assembly seats in Punjab, while SAD will field candidates on the rest. The Akali Dal had left the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance last year over the issue of agricultural laws.


The SAD had last contested 94 seats in alliance with the BJP, while the saffron party had fielded candidates on 23 seats. Adesh Pratap Singh Kairon, son-in-law of former Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal, has been fielded from Patti seat.

(input language)


Show More

Leave a Reply